Under-21s To Begin Title Defence Against Manchester City

Chelsea’s Under-21s will begin the defence of their Barclays Under-21 Premier League title at home to Manchester City.

In a repeat of the first ever fixture played in the ‘new’ Under-21 league back in 2012, the Blues will take on the team they edged on penalties in the Semi Final stage of last year’s competition as they open up the new campaign with a marquee fixture. It will be played at Aldershot on Friday 15th August and will be broadcast live by Chelsea TV.

The Blues are in the top tier of twelve teams following a split in the Category One structure with promotion and relegation being introduced. They play eleven other teams home and away with two matches currently scheduled for Stamford Bridge and trips to a host of other Premier League stadia also lined up. For the first time both Sky and BT Sport plan to broadcast ‘regular’ matches from the competition.

The full fixture list, subject to minor alterations for scheduling, is as follows:

August 15th – Manchester City (H, Aldershot), 7.05pm
August 25th – Norwich City (A, Carrow Road), 7.05pm
September 15th – Everton (A, Southport), 7pm
September 27th – Leicester City (A, King Power Stadium), 2pm
October 17th – Fulham (H, Stamford Bridge), 7.05pm
October 27th – Tottenham Hotspur (A, Lamex Stadium), 7pm
November 9th – Manchester United (H, TBC), 1pm
November 28th – West Ham United (A, Rush Green), 7pm
December 14th – Sunderland (H, Aldershot), 1pm
January 5th – Liverpool (A, Anfield), 7pm
January 10th – Manchester City (A, City Football Academy), 3pm
January 26th – Norwich City (H, Aldershot), 7pm
February 2nd – Southampton (H, Aldershot), 7pm
February 9th – Manchester United (A, Leigh Sports Village), 7pm
February 22nd – Everton (H, Aldershot), 1pm
March 6th – Leicester City (H, Aldershot), 7pm
March 13th – Fulham (A, Craven Cottage), 7pm
April 1st – Tottenham Hotspur (H, Aldershot), 3pm
April 20th – Southampton (A, St Mary’s), 7pm
May 3rd – West Ham United (H, Aldershot), 1pm
May 11th – Sunderland A(A, Stadium of Light), 7pm
May 15th – Liverpool (H, Stamford Bridge), 7pm